Date: 7/31/2009

Community Hospital Auxiliary invests in community, awards scholarships to area students

Community Hospital Auxiliary has made an investment in the Northwest Indiana community June 23 by awarding scholarships to 25 applicants who are seeking to either enter the healthcare field or further their education in healthcare.

“Through this program, these students will be able to help us make an impact on the health and well-being of the residents of our local communities,” said Community Hospital CEO Don Fesko. “Scholarship gifts are an investment in our society — an investment in a healthier future. These students will be making a difference in the lives of others through the career path that they have chosen.”

Scholarships in the amount of $1,500 have been awarded to dependents of Community Hospital employees who meet particular criteria of educational merit and are pursuing a degree in the medical field. The scholarships are renewable for up to five years as long as the student meets the requirements. This year, nine were new applicants and 16 were renewals. The recipients plan to be educated in a variety of areas, including pre-med, radiation therapy, physical therapy, pharmacy and nursing.

“At the reception on June 23, it was exciting to share the future endeavors of these fine students,” said Community Hospital Auxiliary President Paula Nellans. “The auxiliary has been awarding scholarships for more than 20 years and is extremely proud that through their fund raising efforts will be able to sustain the program for years to come.”

Recipients are (back row, left to right) Sarah Masick, Hammond; Amanda Kampner, Crete, Ill.; Daniel Gardner, Munster; Michael Pankowski, Portage; (front, left to right) Timothy Yee, Munster; Sara Nashkoff, Griffith; Erica Yarbrough, Hobart; Joshua Yarbrough, Hobart; Elizabeth Brazaitis, Highland and Tara Zegaczewski, Dyer. Not pictured: Daniel Balcerak, Portage; Timothy Dobin, Cedar Lake; Nicholas Fisher, Munster; Joseph Flores, Schererville; Anthony Gomez, Hobart; Hillary Groff, Crown Point; Megan Krumm, Schererville; Gina Lesniewski, Dyer; Nancy Lesniewski, Dyer; Alexander Matushek, Schererville; Justin Muleas, Munster; Paula Puntillo, Highland; Rachel Ramirez, Munster; Christina Roth, Schererville and Dane Thomas, Crown Point.