Date: 7/30/2010

Community Hospital Auxiliary invests in Community, awards Scholarships to Local Students

Twenty-nine students will benefit from scholarships presented by the Community Hospital Auxiliary last month. Scholarships were awarded to those seeking to either enter the healthcare field or further their education in healthcare.

“Through the auxiliary’s scholarship program, these students will someday be able to help us further impact the health and well-being of the residents of our region,” said Community Hospital CEO Don Fesko. “Scholarship gifts are an investment in our community — an investment in a healthier future. These students will be making a difference in the lives of others through the career path that they have chosen.”

Scholarships in the amount of $1,500 have been awarded to dependents of Community Hospital employees who meet particular criteria of educational merit and are pursuing a degree in the medical field. The scholarships are renewable for up to five years as long as the student meets the requirements. The recipients plan to be educated in a variety of areas, including pre-med, radiation therapy, physical therapy, pharmacy and nursing.

“The auxiliary has been awarding scholarships for more than 20 years and is extremely proud that through various fund raising efforts will be able to sustain the program for years to come,” said Community Hospital Auxiliary President Paula Nellans.

The 2010 Auxiliary Scholarship recipients are: Daniel Balcerak (Butler University), Crown Point; Rachel Colias (Roosevelt University), Munster; Anna Doherty (Purdue University-Calumet), Dyer; Stephanie Elkins (Purdue University), Portage; Nicholas Fisher (Indiana University), Munster; Daniel Gardner (Indiana University), Munster; Anthony Gomez (Indiana University), Hobart; Alyssa Grkinich (Ball State University), Crown Point; Hiliary Groff (IUPUI), Crown Point; Jesus Ibarra (Prairie State College), Glenwood, IL; Stephanie Jansma (Olivet Nazarene University), Lansing, IL; Megan Krumm (IUN), Schererville; Gina Lesniewski (University of Indianapolis), Dyer; Nancy Lesniewski (Ball State University), Dyer; Alexander Matushek (Purdue University), Schererville; Kristie Miller (Indiana University), Munster; Nicole Moon (Indiana University), Dyer; Justin Mulesa (St. Louis College of Pharmacy), Munster; Lizette Ortega (Indiana University), Hammond; Sarah Otte (Calvin College), Highland; Paula Puntillo (Marquette University), Highland; Kristi Roser (Indiana University), Munster; Christina Roth (IUN), Schererville; Kyle Tomczak (IUN), Highland; Amanda Valtierra (Indiana University), Griffith; Carolyn Ward (IUPUI), Lowell; Joshua Yarbrough (Ivy Tech), Hobart; Timothy Yee (Notre Dame), Munster and Tara Zagaczewski (Purdue University-Calumet), Dyer.

For more information on career opportunities with the hospitals of Community Healthcare System: Community Hospital in Munster; St. Catherine Hospital in East Chicago and St. Mary Medical Center in Hobart, visit our website at