Community Healthcare System Community Hospital St. Catherine Hospital St. Mary Medical Center

Choose a Hospital that Ranks Among
the Top in the Nation

In 2009, Community Healthcare System hospitals were rated by Thomson Reuters as one of the nation's Top 50 performing
health systems for quality and efficiency.

CLICK HERE to find out how we rate in quality and patient safety.

National Nurses Week

Community Healthcare System honors Outstanding Staff

The hearts of healing

At the hospitals of Community Healthcare System, our mission is to provide quality, compassionate care to our patients. At the heart of this healing lies the dedication and hard work of our healthcare professionals of Community Hospital in Munster, St. Catherine Hospital in East Chicago and St. Mary Medical Center in Hobart. Each hospital celebrates these outstanding caregivers during National Nurses Week. Here are a few examples of the extraordinary people behind the extraordinary care provided every day at our hospitals.

Community Hospital

Community Hospital’s celebration of National Nurses Week culminated with a ceremony to recognize one outstanding nurse and one patient caregiver, as voted by their co-workers. Ashley Schassburger, an Oncology patient care technician, is recipient of the “2012 Patient Caregiver Excellence Award,” and Stacy Ross, registered nurse on IMCU West, has received the “2012 Nursing Excellence Award.” Schassburger and Ross were nominated by their peers at the hospital for going above and beyond in their respective patient care areas.

Community Hospital Winners
Community Hospital CEO Don Fesko (right) and Chief Nursing Officer Ronda McKay (left) congratulate Ashley Schassburger, Oncology patient care technician (center left) and Stacy Ross, registered nurse for IMCU West (center, right) on their Excellence Awards for 2012. Schassburger is recipient of the “2012 Patient Caregiver Excellence Award,” and Ross has been selected as the “2012 Nursing Excellence Award” recipient at the culmination of the hospital’s observance of National Nurses Week.

St. Catherine Hospital

In describing St. Catherine Hospital’s choice for the 2012 Nursing Excellence Award, co-workers are all in agreement: Ana Bran-Guzman is the picture of nursing excellence. The award was presented at a special Nursing Excellence Tea on May 9 during National Nurses Week. Bran-Guzman is a department nurse for Radiology and has been a part of the St. Catherine Hospital family for more than 12 years. Her peers nominated her for this prestigious award based upon key characteristics of nursing excellence including areas of Leadership, Dignity, Compassionate Care, Community, Quality and Stewardship — attributes that coincide with the hospital’s mission and values.

St. Catherine Hospital Winners
St. Catherine Hospital Nursing Excellence award recipient for 2012 is Ana Bran-Guzman (center). Hospital CEO JoAnn Birdzell (right) and Chief Nursing Officer Paula Swenson (left) congratulate Bran-Guzman at a tea held to honor nursing staff.

St. Mary Medical Center

St. Mary Medical Center administration and staff have recognized the top performances of caregivers during National Nurses Week May 7 through 11. The 2012 Nursing Pillar Awards highlight nurses who go above and beyond every day for their patients in five categories: Service, Quality, Finance, Growth and People, and a Super Star for all categories combined. “These nurses depict strength in key areas at St. Mary Medical Center and represent just a few examples of the healthcare professionals who practice the compassionate art of healing here on a daily basis,” says Tammie Jones, DNP, MS, RN, vice president, patient care services and chief nursing officer at St. Mary Medical Center. “The nominations are a way for nurse peers to recognize the outstanding attributes of their co-workers. We’re proud to have them all as a part of our team.”

St. Mary Medical Center Winners
St. Mary Medical Center 2012 Nursing Pillar Awards were presented during National Nurses Week. Pictured from left to right: Christi Meachem (People Award); Betty Lane (Finance Award); Patty Higgins (Growth Award); Dave Acosta (Service Award); Janice Ryba, CEO; Pat Troller (Quality Award); Tammie Jones, CNO/Master of Ceremonies and Carolyn Jacobs (Super Star).