Date: 6/14/2010

Hospital Auxiliary awards $20,800 in Scholarships to Students

Seated from left to right: Sophia Raziuddin, Crystal Godinez, Jaqueline Garcia, Laura Rosas, Emma Weismann, Vicstachia Thomas and Sharelle Bishop.
Back row from left to right: Sameera Raziuddin, Emily Tisma, Christian Cabrera, Manuel Mendoza, Gabriel Zavala, Shirley Bishop, Miroslava Sibova, Chuantiava Sells and Katie Franciski.

The St. Catherine Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship Award Program is proud to announce its 2010-2011 recipients.

The scholarships are awarded to students residing in the St. Catherine Hospital primary services area, and/or students who are St. Catherine Hospital employees, Community Foundation of Northwest Indiana (CFNI) employees (based at St. Catherine), or Auxilians and/or the dependents of the employees or auxilians, and are pursing higher education in the healthcare field.

The Scholarship Program is funded through the Auxiliary’s Gift Shop sales, fundraising events, and Wings of Healing Program.

The 2010-2011 recipients include:

Sharelle Bishop of East Chicago - Purdue University Calumet; Shirley Brown of Gary - Indiana University Northwest; Christian Cabrera of East Chicago - Indiana University Bloomington; Kathleen Franciski of Whiting - Ivy Tech Community College; Jaqueline Garcia of East Chicago - Valparaiso University; Crystal Godinez of East Chicago - Northwestern University; Manuel Mendoza of East Chicago - Harvard College; Sophia Raziuddin of Munster - Indiana University Northwest; Sameera Raziuddin of Munster - Indiana University Northwest; Laura Rosas of East Chicago - Indiana University Bloomington; Chuantiava Sells of East Chicago - Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis; Miroslava Sibova of Highland - Purdue University Calumet; Vicstachia Thomas of Gary - Purdue University Calumet; Emily Tisma of Valparaiso - Indiana University Bloomington; Emma Weismann of Valparaiso - Tulane University and Gabriel Zavala of Hammond - University of Indianapolis.

The awards were presented to the recipients at the Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony at St. Catherine Hospital on Monday, May 24, 2010.