Skip to Main Content

Meet Our Team

Occupational Health of Community Healthcare System works with employers and their employees to develop a plan for wellness in the workplace.

DEDICATED TO THE WORKFORCE

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH has been providing extraordinary healthcare to the working community in Northwest Indiana for decades.

As a trusted name in providing exceptional occupational healthcare, our team believes strongly in workplace wellness. We understand that injury case management is driven by the goals of controlling medical expenses and reducing lost time.

As healthcare partners with our clients, we specialize in keeping workers healthy, productive and on the job. We provide cost-effective solutions for a full spectrum of care in a compassionate manner. Woven throughout is our commitment to education in the workplace to help prevent injuries, improve the health and well-being of your workforce and provide proactive solutions to problems in the workplace.

Leadership Team

Raza Akbar, MD, MPH, Medical Director: 219-440-5286 or raza.akbar@comhs.org

Mark Savage, Director of Operations: 219-947-6653 or mark.savage@comhs.org

Jo Anne McDonald, Director of Clinical Operations: 219-392-7460 or JoAnne.McDonald@comhs.org

Rick Weber, Network Manager, Munster: 219-440-5307 or rweber@comhs.org

Gladys Ramirez, Network Manager, Hobart/Portage and Valparaiso: 219-947-6628 or Gladys.ramirez@comhs.org

Providers

  • Mohamad Turkmani, MD, Staff Physician, East Chicago
  • Joseph Meija, MD, Staff Physician, Valparaiso
  • Priya Shastri, MD, Staff Physician, Hobart/Portage
  • John Danielson, MD, Staff Physician, Hobart
  • Mark Gardner, MD, Staff Physician, East Chicago/Munster
  • Daniel Bakston, MD, MPH, FACPEM, Munster/East Chicago
  • Juana Ambriz de Williams, Nurse Practitioner, Portage/Hobart
  • Caitlyn Pulice, Nurse Practitioner, Munster
  • Jayne Targgart, Nurse Practitioner, East Chicago/Munster/Hobart/Portage/Valparaiso
  • Kelly Salazar, Nurse Practitioner, East Chicago/Portage

Business Development

Susan Mizgate, Regional Sales: 219-789-9430 or Susan.K.Mizgate@comhs.org

Frank Jackson, Regional Sales: 219-381-9189 or Frank.A.Jackson@comhs.org

 

Nurse Case Managers

Margaret Hall, RN, BSN, Munster, 219-440-5286 or Margaret.Hall@comhs.org
Jacqui Ponce, RN, East Chicago, 219-392-7478 or Jacqueline.M.Ponce@comhs.org

Darla Kupsis, RN, BSN, Valparaiso/Hobart/Portage: 219-286-3830 or Darla.a.kupsis@comhs.org

 

Billing

Billing Office (Regional): Sheila Flores & Cheryl Bohling, 219-392-7562 or ohbilling@comhs.org